Congratulations to the 2018 MCH Auxiliary Scholarship Recipients 

Memorial Community Hospital Auxiliary Board of Directors, Blair, is pleased to announce seven college scholarship recipients for the 2018-2019 academic year.

All recipients of an MCH Auxiliary Scholarship are pursuing a career in a health related field offered at MCH. Five scholarships are valued at $500 and two are valued at $1,000. The first $1,000 scholarship, named the Dorena Walker Scholarship, is designated for a student entering the Nursing field. A second $1,000 scholarship, the Ardis Grace Service Award Scholarship, is for a student that has shown exemplary community service throughout high school.

The scholarship recipients receiving $500 are Sydney Andreasen, Sydney Shaffar, Jacob Sorenson, Jordan Thoene and Devon Zurek all of Blair High School. Natalie Uhing is a non-traditional recipient and current employee of MCH working on her nursing degree. She received the Dorena Walker Nursing Scholarship for $1,000. Rachel Kraemer of Arlington received the Ardis Grace Service Award Scholarship valued at $1,000 for her dedication and volunteerism in her community.

The Dorena Walker Nursing Scholarship, awarded to Natalie, is presented to one student entering the nursing profession. Dorena Walker served as a longtime member of the Memorial Community Hospital nursing staff and Board of Directors. She was instrumental in coordinating the 1952 fundraising campaign to build the existing hospital, which opened in 1956.

The Ardis Grace Service Award Scholarship, awarded to Rachel, is named after the longtime Auxiliary Member who was instrumental in starting the Annual Auxiliary Rummage Sale. Ardis has volunteered for the hospital for hundreds, if not thousands of hours over the years and was a key figure in making it successful.

According to MCH Auxiliary Manager, Kim Dutton, it is important to encourage students to enter the medical profession. "We award these scholarships to local students from our surrounding communities to help further their education in the medical field," Dutton said. "We hope that someday they will return to serve our community in their chosen profession."

The scholarships will be distributed at the beginning of the fall semester of the 2018-2019 school year. The MCH Auxiliary Board of Directors initiated the scholarship program in 1992, and has since contributed more than $95,000 toward the education of area residents.

Pictured left to right: Sydney Shaffar, Jordan Thoene, Devon Zurek, Rachel Kraemer, Jacob Sorensen, Sydney Andreasen. Not pictured: Natalie Uhing

pdfDownload the Press Release ยป